To Every Thing There is a Season

Categories

This week marks the first few days of fall. As I took in the crisp air early this morning before the sun came up, I was reminded to soak in all the little changes our Lord gives us each season. Ecclesiastes Chapter 3 is a reminder that there is a time and purpose for everything. Can I just say, that chapter is so beautiful and the older I get, the more I can relate.

Often times, I feel as though we go through a change, and quickly find that we are looking for the next exciting life change without appreciating the present moments. I guess as sinners our flesh is never satisfied.

It’s so easy to get discouraged waiting for your next season. (Believe me!) But then the Lord will send little reminders, like this morning, that in due time His plan will unfold and it will be the most perfect and more amazing than we could ever have imagined.

I want to try and not overlook that God has placed us in this season right now, and it’s all a part of His plan. Don’t miss your purpose now looking for what’s to come later. As Chapter 3 says,

“He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end.” (v11)

I’ve caught myself thinking lately, “If only I could know when”. I’ve also thought “If I knew then what I know now…” after hard life lessons. But if we knew the future, why would we need to place our complete trust and faith in God? During my last few weeks in college, I remember the fears of the unknown creep in to my life. For the first time, I had no idea what was next. The week after I graduated college, the Lord brought Levi into my life. We were engaged 5 months later, and I was also fortunate enough to be introduced to the field of work that I would later come to love. I would have never guessed, but let me tell you friends… NOTHING takes God by surprise.

Even with such evident proof, I still have to remind myself that His timing is perfect. So to those of you who are also hurting, anxious, or stressed during this time of “waiting season”, I pray this chapter could be an encouragement to you as it was to me.

“To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.” (v1) 

Leave a Reply

