Christmas in Dixie

There is no snow on the ground (we could actually wear shorts), but I wouldn’t have Christmas any other way. As always, the holidays with a big family creates a good time, yet a busy one (understatement). With all the hustle and bustle starting to settle down, I wanted to take a moment to share what blessings the Lord has graciously given us through this past year. Although our “nest” is now empty of all the Christmas sparkle, we may always remember that the first Christmas back in a lowly manger was only the beginning of our Lord’s life here on earth. The best is yet to come! Christmas time is just a simple reminder of the greatest gift ever given – God sent his son to be the Savior of the world, to freely give us eternal life, although so undeserving.

This is definitely my favorite time of year, so I reminisce with a few pictures of my favorite things…

2014 Christmas CardIMG_2228

Christmas Cards!!!! This year there is also wedding invites, shower invites, graduation invites, and birthday cards on the fridge, and they are just as special to us. Did I mention we have a large family?
I have wanted to send out a Christmas card since I was younger, and my wish finally came true the year Levi and I got married. This year was only our second card, but starting a tradition as a family makes me happy!

IMG_1947Millers ChristmasIMG_2235

The first photo is our burlap stockings I made for our first Christmas together in 2013. The next are the stockings my Granny made for our whole family! She just kept adding new ones through the years. I love the tradition behind them. The black and white Levi’s family stockings. I love how we all have a place, no matter how many of us there are. I look forward to the day when Levi and I can fill our mantle too.

IMG_1964These Christmas dishes may not look like much, but they are so special. They were passed down to me from my Great – Grandmother. I treasure them.

IMG_0395 - Copy  IMG_1974
My Levi turned 25 this Christmas. Having a December-Baby in your family also means having birthday wrapping paper in stock every Christmas!!

IMG_1900 IMG_1926
Oh the joys of being an Aunt….. I have three precious nephews, a neice, and one more nephew on the way! They make my life so much better.

IMG_1988  IMG_2031
There is nothing better than having a Christmas tree light up your house. The glow is warming. We are slowly adding ornaments (and memories) every year. The bottom of our tree was adorned with gifts for our family. I absolutely LOVE wrapping presents. It is time consuming, but each bow, each package is carefully chosen to bring a smile to the recipients face. Watching our friends and family opening their surprises brings so much joy and excitement! Most of these were wrapped before December 1st, so it was extremely difficult to wait!!

IMG_1993

Our second tree. You know you married a Georgia Southern fan when…….

I couldn’t help it!! MY GS tree reminded me of good times and good friends back in my College Cheerleading days. I do love my Eagles, and all the memories made!

IMG_2032
This is the newest addition to our Christmas decor. My oh so talented friend, Mrs. Kathy, handmade this stocking. Isn’t it beautiful!? We look forward to the Ransom-Family Christmas Party every year.

Check out her blog here: http://www.adelightsomelife.com/


I may have a little too much fun decorating for Christmas. Now my house seems so bare after taking the sparkle down. I better get to work! More Christmas projects to come…

Leave a Reply

