An Old Window: Oh The Possibilities

My mother and I went to a few yard sales together recently. We didn’t really have any thing in particular in mind – just a fun morning spending time together. (She is where I get my love of all things crafty.) Sadly, we were not successful at any yard sales that weekend, so we decided to visit our local antique store downtown. Jackpot baby! We had fun rummaging through all of their old things. Mama found some old jewelry… I found some candle stick holders… but we BOTH saw a couple old windows stacked together in the back. The ideas starting flowing!

IMG_9783

Mom decided to use hers as a picture frame. Whether for four different pictures or for just one really big one to fit behind the panes. I wanted something to just simply hang on the wall to fill a void. (Levi hates stuff on the wall… men.. *sigh*) So instead, the window ended up on our mantle.

Before I start, I must disclose that I change our mantle decor a hundred times a year. But looking at the window, it seemed something was missing… Thankfully, our windows had already been cleaned and painted when we found them. Mama’s is tinted light blue, and mine was off white, both looking rustic. I liked the contrast of my dark mantle behind the off white painted window. All we really had to do was scratch off the little bits of paint that were on the glass. The window had an old lock on it still. As I turned the window upside down, this lock became the perfect hook to hang something. So of course, I made a visit to the greatest store EVER – Hobby Lobby.

I was looking at ribbon, accessories, anything I could possibly hang from my window. Eventually, I found some wreaths of all sizes. I found a relatively small (and very plain) wreath, so I went back and grabbed a roll of thick burlap ribbon. So the wreath / window wouldn’t fall and scare me to death one day, I secured it on the window lock by making a knot with some hemp (or twine). The wreath ended up being very light weight. Next, I wrapped the burlap around the top of the wreath and gathered it together where I thought the bow should be. (Yes, I am forever a cheerleader who likes bows on everything.) Using some of the hemp, I made a knot around the burlap I gathered. You can cut the strand a few inches above the knot. I then held a new strand of burlap in my hand and wrapped it around my elbow making a long circle. Then, I tied hemp in the middle to make a knot – There’s the bow! Cut off the excess burlap. Tie the hemp from the bow to the gathered burlap attached to the wreath. This way, everything stays in place and is in the shape you want. I contemplated letting some long strands of burlap fall from the bow, but for now I left it alone. Also, the backside of the window wasn’t painted as smooth, but has some tan parts showing. I might paint this later, but now it is what it is! I love love love rustic.

I am looking forward to the upcoming months so I can dazzle up my wreath for the holidays!! Before & After Wreath

Leave a Reply

